Reunion Info
Books/Video
Binnacle List (offsite)
History
Boat Websites
Links
Bottom Gun BBS
Search | Statistics | User listing Forums | Calendars | Quotes |
You are logged in as a guest. ( logon | register )

At random: The USS NAUTILUS SSN 571 made history by cruising submerged from the pacific to the Atlantic Ocean, passing under the North Pole at 11:15 p.m. EDST on August 3, 1958.
Collision with USS Independence 1960
Moderators:

Jump to page : 1
Now viewing page 1 [25 messages per page]
   Forums-> Submarine DiscussionMessage format

GaryKC
Posted 2009-03-24 10:53 AM (#25305)

COMSUBBBS

Subject: Collision with USS Independence 1960

Email I received yesterday:

I was an engineering officer on USS Independence (CVA-62) in late 1960 on a Med cruise when the Tusk collided with us from below. There was no damage to the Independence while the Tusk suffered some minor conning tower damage. Do any of your shipmates recall this incident.
Harold Krieger
Lt(jg) USN

My Reply:

Harold,
You bet, a couple of the crew have mentioned that incident. One sailor, Frank Chesky has kept a piece of the forward capstan all these years. A couple photos of it are here.  http://www.usstusk.com/miscellaneous.html  Surface ships and submarines have been bumping off of each other since they first shared the sea.
Regards, Gary Parker
Website http://www.usstusk.com

Frank's Reply:

The collision in 1960 With the Independence is very clear in my memory and goes like this:
I was wedged into my bunk in the forward torpedo room, the OD asked Sonar to search "around" and report all contacts which was "No contacts".  The command to come to periscope depth was given.
Being mid summer, the thermoclines were severe causing the sound to be deflected off the cold water never to be heard by Sonar causing the collision between the Tusk and the Independence.
I was bounced up and down like a rag doll in my bunk.  I could never imagine a mass of steel could be bounced so violently as was the Tusk that day.